The CRES scientific steering group and principal investigators (PI's) consists of researchers with excellent international track records. The institutions and research groups involved have extensive experience of collaboration in various large scale projects and ongoing national and multinational projects, including a strong networking with leading international scientists and leading positions in IPCC WG I, II and III. Members of the team can document results with high impact to climate research, published in leading journals, including Nature and Science. The team comprises a large international network, and all CRES members and PI's work at institutions with well equipped state-of-the-art laboratories/model tools, with a world-class reputation for the type of measurements/experiments required.

A number of key National stakeholders like the Danish Water and Waste Water Association (DANVA), Local Government Denmark (KL), Danish Insurance Association and the Knowledge Centre for Agriculture are also part of the CRES consortium.

CRES collaborates with the Coordination Unit for Research in Climate Change Adaptation (KFT)and the Information Centre for Climate Change Adaptation.

A full schematic of the CRES organisation is shown below. For more information about the organisation, please use the menu to the left.


Scientific Steering Group

  • Centre Director, Dr. Jens Hesselbjerg Christensen (Danish Climate Centre, Danish Meteorological Institute (DMI))
  • Professor Jørgen E. Olesen (Faculty of Agricultural Sciences, Aarhus University)
  • Professor Dr. agro. John R. Porter (Faculty of Life Sciences, University of Copenhagen)
  • Professor Dorthe Dahl-Jensen
  • Faculty of Science, University of Copenhagen 
  • Professor Jens Christian Refsgaard (The Geological Survey of Denmark and Greenland (GEUS))
  • Professor Erik Jeppesen (National Environmental Institute, Aarhus University)
  • Head of Programme Dr. Kirsten Halsnæs (DTU Climate Center, Technical University of Denmark Systems Analysis, Risø DTU)
  • Dr. Henrik Madsen (DHI)
  • Associate Professor Karsten Arnbjerg-Nielsen (Department of Environmental Engineering, Technical University of Denmark)
  • Secretary for the Steering Group and Assistant to the Director, Dr. Martin Drews (DTU Climate Centre, Technical University of Denmark)


  • Danish Meteorological Institute
  • Faculty of Agricultural Sciences, Aarhus University
  • Faculty of Life Sciences, University of Copenhagen
  • Faculty of Science, University of Copenhagen
  • The Geological Survey of Denmark and Greenland
  • National Environmental Institute, Aarhus University
  • DTU Klima Center, Technical University of Denmark
  • DHI
  • Department of Environmental Engineering, Technical University of Denmark
  • Local Government Denmark
  • The Danish Water and Waste Water Association
  • The Danish Insurance Association
  • Knowledge Centre for Agriculture, The Danish Agricultural Advisory Services

Associated Partners

  • Bjerknes Centre for Climate Research, Norway (Professor Eystein Jansen)
  • Swedish Meteorological and Hydrological Institute, Sweden (Professor Markku Rummukainen)
  • Environmental Change Research Centre, University College London, United Kingdom (Dr. Martin Kernan)
  • Basque Centre for Climate Research, Spain (Scientific Director Professor Anil Markandya)